News

Oscar Sked Sidesteps Olympics

March 25, 2013-Oscar nominations will be announced Jan 16, 2014 and the ABC Television telecast of the awards ceremony will be Sunday March 2, 2014, which is an unusually wide timeline to sidestep the winter Olympics (Feb. 2-23 in Russia).
   The elongated timeline (this year’s Oscars telecast was Feb. 24) will facilitate more awards campaigning, which is frowned upon by Oscars organization Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) but nonetheless occurs.
   For the following year, the ABC Television telecast awards a back-to-normal Feb. 22, 2015.
   “The choice of dates for the next two Oscars effectively ends any speculation that the show could move to an earlier date on the Hollywood awards calendar,” says a Hollywood Reporter article by Gregg Kilday.

 

Oscar schedule 2013-14 for 86th Academy Awards


Saturday, November 16, 2013:

The Governors Awards

Monday, December 2, 2013:

Official Screen Credits due

Friday, December 27, 2013:

Nominations voting begins

Wednesday, January 8, 2014:

Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Thursday, January 16, 2014:

Oscar nominations announced

Monday, February 10, 2014:

Nominees Luncheon

Friday, February 14, 2014:

Final voting begins

Saturday, February 15, 2014:

Scientific and Technical Awards

Tuesday, February 25, 2014:

Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Oscar Sunday, March 2, 2014:

86th Academy Awards

Oscar Sunday, February 22, 2015:

87th Academy Awards

For full text, click links below; this website’s text is searchable via searchbox on homepage:
http://www.oscars.org/press/pressreleases/2013/20130325.html
http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/academy-announces-oscars-dates-2014-430725
http://www.marketingmovies.net/news/olympics-bump-next-years-oscars/
http://www.marketingmovies.net/chapters/chapter-6-publicity/